STEM WOMAN CRUSH: CHIOMA OKEKE

--

Rather than think of all the uncountable reasons why your gender disqualifies you from sitting at the STEM table with your male counterparts, instead think of just one reason why it is possible and hold on tight to that. — Chioma Okeke

The SWIS Africa team has been following Chioma’s Instagram handle and how she has been engaging her followers about her journey as a chemist. We were inspired by the great things she’s doing in the STEM space. We arranged an interview with her to learn more about her passion and encourage other women in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.

SWIS Africa: Kindly give us a brief autobiography of yourself?

Chioma: Chioma Okeke is a Nigerian who is currently pursuing her PhD degree at Tohoku University, Japan. She graduated from her undergraduate/college with a first class honours in Pure and Industrial Chemistry from University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN). Shortly after that, she won a fully funded Ministry of Education and Tourism (MEXT), Japanese government scholarship (University recommended category) for her masters degree to study Bio-analytical Chemistry. Due to her record and diligence, while on this scholarship she won the Tohoku University, GPMS scholarship for her PhD degree.

She is highly motivated in supporting young graduates to achieving their career goals. Her impressive performance can be seen even outside the academic filed as she currently holds the position of the General Secretary of Africa Association of Miyagi (AFAM), Japan and Project facilitator for Africa of our Dream Initiative (AODI) NGOs.

SWIS Africa: What drives your passion to share your scientific journey online?

Chioma: When you love something so much, it is normal to want to scream it out loud for the world to see that thing that keeps you fulfilled. For me, I love science so much and I fall more in love with it on a daily basis because the stress, hurdles, ups and downs come a long way in teaching me life long lessons. Most of my write ups on all my social media platforms are birthed from the lessons that come from my scientific journey.

Also, I tell the world because I want to become an inspiration to anybody especially the girl child whom the society has told has no place in the world of STEM. There is a saying which says that seeing is an inspiration and the key to success. Even if it is just one person that stays true to her purpose and do not give up because of me, that is a fulfillment on its own.

So it is safe to say that Love, motivation and impact drives this passion of sharing my scientific journey online.

SWIS Africa: How easy has it been managing your work and social life in a balance?

Chioma: To be honest, striking the balance between work and social life has not been easy breezy, and I guess it is something that has to do with the side of me that gets really passionate about anything I am involved in. But what makes it possible is that I have the best support system (family and loved one(s) and I always remind myself that life outside the laboratory is as important as laboratory life because rest helps to improve productivity in all areas. Also, I try to work with realistic daily baby goals towards the grand goal, this helps keep me on my toes career wise but also reduces spill over of work into social life.

Chioma: Life outside the laboratory is as important as laboratory life

SWIS Africa: Will you ever for any reason agree that science is not a “woman-thing”?

Chioma: I would never agree to this, like why should I? I mean there is literally at least one famous female name attached to almost every science related field. So if one woman can do it, then others can.

SWIS Africa: Has there been any humiliating or tears-driven moment in your course all because you are a woman-in-the-science-world?

Chioma: This was shortly after high school, even before the actual scientific journey. I remember the very first time I mentioned the course ‘Chemistry’ to someone very close who could probably pass for family and the idea was immediately shut down. The fact that the idea was shut down was not really my pain, but the reason this person gave, his reason was that Chemistry is a ‘male-course’. Back then I cried, but now it makes me smile especially seeing how far I have come with my choice. Ironically, now that person even uses me as an example to encourage girls who are interested in the science world.

SWIS Africa: Can you tell us briefly about your job or course?

Chioma: Well, I am a chemist whose major in my masters and now PhD is bio-analytical chemistry which is a sub-discipline of analytical chemistry. It involves sampling, separation, detection and characterization techniques to promote our understanding of fundamental life processes and to increase our knowledge of how to intervene in those processes to regulate biological function and restore health. My research direction precisely is to design binders that can attach very tightly to the Influenza A Virus (IAV) RNA promoter region (conserved region). This binders are actually prospective anti-influenza drug candidates that could possibly work for different IAV strains despite the genetic mutations associated with this virus. Currently, my probe is the tightest non-aminoglycoside binder to this region and this earned me a Japanese patent share with my team.

SWIS Africa: What is your boost for going on with this passion-driven scientific adventure?

Chioma: My boost will definitely be the results, progress and achievements achieved so far and the long list of prospects, impact and contributions that I could make in the scientific world. Also, I have an inquisitive mind so it is not far fetched why I love research so much; I love to make new discoveries and proffer solutions to existing problems in humanity. Although the day to day activities that make up active research are most times not a walk in the park, getting just one good result always goes a long way to numb the previous feeling of frustrations and this keeps me pumped up to keep moving.

SWIS Africa: It has been a wonderful experience having you; before you go, what will be your words for that girl out there still left in the darkness of her thoughts and decisions of whether to pursue her scientific career or just let go off it?

Chioma: Rather than think of all the uncountable reasons why your gender disqualifies you from sitting at the STEM table with your male counterparts, instead think of just one reason why it is possible and hold on tight to that. The same way you wont like a doctor to misdiagnose you, do not also let societal misconceptions misdiagnose your purpose. Always remember that you can be whatever you want to be if you put your mind to it.

SWIS Africa: Thank you very much, Chioma, for your time. We wish you success in your career.

If you want to learn more about Chioma and her work, kindly follow her on social media:

Instagram: @cheeroma

Linkedin: Chioma Okeke

SWIS Africa is an initiative focused on celebrating and shaping women in STEM in Africa. You can learn more about us by clicking this link.

--

--

Shaping Women in STEM Africa (SWIS Africa)

SWIS Africa is an initiative founded with the purpose of celebrating, promoting, and shaping women in STEM.